BudgitNG Lead, iROKOTv Founder and Gidi Traffic Win 2012 The Future Awards

Held yesterday in Port Harcourt, the 7th Edition of the Future Awards came to a close after months of thorough selection of nominees and then voting. For the first time since its inception, TFA allowed public votes and nominations in addition to votes and nominations from its notable Judges.

The Future Awards is is a social enterprise/change communications firm affiliated to Red Media Group that is set up based on a strong, practical commitment to human and capital development, especially in Nigeria. The Award recognises people who are exceptional in their various fields of work.

Gidi Traffic, a service which pulls traffic reports and updates from Twitter users and shares them with other commuters won the award for Best Use of New Media. Earlier this year, Gidi Traffic was nominated in the “life saving hero category” of the Shorty Awards. The service is run by an anonymous user who calls himself “Kaptin Idoko”. Gidi Traffic has also begun sharing its reports to Facebook.

Jason Njoku, Founder, iROKOtv – a service which streams Nollywood movies and content online got the award for Entrepreneur of the Year in Technology. Jason is currently worth about $30 million according to a Forbes report of the richest young millionaires in Africa.

The Innovator of the Year in Science and Technology award went to Seun Onigbinde, the lead at BudgitNG – Budgit is a project that stemmed from Co-creation hub and helps Nigerians grasp and gain access to government expenses through graphical representations and diagrams.

Other winners at the future awards include On-air personalities Toolz and Denrele Edun as well as musician Wizkid and actress Tonto Dikeh.


Binjo is passionate about(some say he's obsessed with) technology and the web. . In his spare time, Binjo runs UP NEPA! Where he blogs on a wide range of issues. Circle Him on Google+

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Pinterest

One Comment on “BudgitNG Lead, iROKOTv Founder and Gidi Traffic Win 2012 The Future Awards

  1. Denrele stole the show. His acceptance speech was the highlight of the show! Every time he stepped up onstage, he just entertained us to the max….l.im officially a huge fan!

Leave a Reply